Minimal retail shelf of jars and pouches, Utah Hemp, CBD and Kratom Retail Rules for Shop Owners

Utah Hemp, CBD and Kratom Retail Rules for Shop Owners

Utah Hemp, CBD and Kratom Retail Rules for Shop Owners

Informational only, not legal or tax advice. This guide explains how Utah’s hemp, CBD and kratom retail rules fit together. Hemp and kratom rules changed in 2026, so confirm every requirement with the agency named before you sign a lease, order inventory, or open your doors. For complex situations, talk to a qualified Utah attorney or CPA.

If you sell hemp, CBD or kratom from a Utah shop, you deal with several regulators at once. The Utah Department of Agriculture and Food (UDAF) regulates the products. Your city or county issues your local business license. The Utah State Tax Commission handles sales tax. If you operate through an LLC or corporation, the Division of Corporations and Commercial Code handles the entity filing, and a DBA filing if your sign uses a name other than your legal name. This guide covers each layer in the order you are most likely to need it.

Start with entity registration, not a state license

Utah does not issue a statewide general business license. Your first filing is registering your business entity with the Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code, part of the Utah Department of Commerce. That is a registration, not a license. You file through the Utah Business Registration System at businessregistration.utah.gov, where you log in with a UtahID.

For an LLC, the formation document is a Certificate of Organization. The filing fee is $59. The yearly filing is called an annual renewal and costs $18, due one year after registration and every year after that. The renewal window opens 60 days before the anniversary date, and a late renewal adds a $10 late fee. Expedited processing is $75 per filing. Most online filings are processed and approved instantly. Filings that need manual review take 2 to 4 business days from receipt, and the Division has posted current processing times of 7 to 10 business days during backlogs.

Corporations file Articles of Incorporation for a domestic business corporation, with the same $59 filing fee and $18 annual renewal. Check the name before you file. An LLC name must include “limited liability company,” “limited company,” or one of the abbreviations “L.L.C.,” “LLC,” “L.C.” or “LC.” The name must be distinguishable from existing entity, reserved, registered and assumed names on the Division’s records. You can reserve a name for 120 days for a $22 fee.

Every registered entity must also name a registered agent for service of process, with a Utah street address. A PO box can be listed only in addition to a street address. The agent can be an individual, a business entity registered with the Division and in good standing, or a commercial registered agent. A commercial registered agent registration costs $52. Naming an agent is the entity’s confirmation that the agent has agreed to serve.

If you trade under a different name, file a DBA with the state

If your shop operates under a name different from your entity name, you need an assumed name registration, also called a Business Name Registration. Many owners assume this goes to the county. It does not. The filing goes to the Division of Corporations and Commercial Code at the state level. It costs $22 to register. Check the Division’s DBA page for the renewal term and fee. The Division’s DBA page is at commerce.utah.gov/corporations/business-entities/dba.

Get your city or county business license

After you register with the state, you still need a business license, and that comes from local government. Inside city or town limits, the city or town issues it. Outside those limits, the county issues it. A city license does not transfer between cities. If you move your shop from one city to another, or open a second location in a different city, you need a license from that city. Fees and application steps vary by jurisdiction, so confirm them with the city, town or county where the shop will operate before you sign a lease.

Some services offered in a shop may need an occupational license from the Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL). If your shop offers a licensed service alongside retail sales, check with DOPL.

Register for a Utah sales tax license

Any seller with an established presence in Utah needs a Utah Sales Tax License from the Utah State Tax Commission. You register through the Taxpayer Access Point (TAP) at tap.tax.utah.gov. This is a tax registration, not a business license, so it does not replace your city or county license.

The state sales tax rate is 4.85 percent. Grocery food is taxed at a 1.75 percent state rate. Combined state and local rates run from 6.35 percent to 10.05 percent depending on the jurisdiction, and the combined grocery food rate is 3.0 percent. Set your point-of-sale system to the rate for your exact address, not the county average. Your tax rate is set by where the shop is located, so confirm the combined rate with the Tax Commission at tax.utah.gov before you set prices.

Hemp and CBD: the UDAF industrial hemp retailer permit

UDAF regulates hemp retail through an industrial hemp retailer permit. Ask UDAF for the current application, the permit fee, and whether an inspection is part of the process. This guide does not state a permit fee because the verified figures for that permit are not listed here.

H.B. 389 (2026 General Session, enrolled, effective May 6, 2026) changed several retail rules:

  • ID check: A hemp retailer must check the ID of anyone buying a cannabinoid product that contains THC or a THC analog, to confirm the buyer is 21 or older.
  • Video surveillance: The bill repeals the video surveillance requirement. You no longer need it to meet this rule, but check whether your landlord or insurer requires cameras.
  • Medical cannabis processors: A medical cannabis processor may handle hemp without an extra license.
  • Low-THC products: Processors may make low-THC products below 0.3 percent, which medical cannabis pharmacies may sell.
  • Agency change: Medical cannabis program duties move from the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) to UDAF.

The ID requirement is tied to products that contain THC or a THC analog. Whether it applies to a CBD-only product line, and how any THC limit applies to each product you stock, is a question for UDAF. Do not assume a product is outside the ID rule because it is labeled CBD. Keep supplier documentation for every product you carry so you can answer UDAF’s questions quickly.

Kratom: S.B. 45 limits who can sell it

Kratom is the most restrictive category. S.B. 45 (2026, effective May 6, 2026) sets these rules:

  • A kratom retailer must register with UDAF before selling.
  • UDAF may register only a retail tobacco specialty business.
  • Only tobacco specialty businesses may sell kratom.
  • The purchase age is 21.
  • Only labeled pure leaf kratom may be sold.
  • Unregistered sales can draw a fine of up to $5,000.

The practical result is that a general retail shop cannot add kratom to its shelves on the strength of a regular sales tax license or city license. Kratom sales are open only to a business that qualifies as a retail tobacco specialty business and registers with UDAF. If your shop is not that type of business, the rule as summarized here does not let you register to sell kratom. Confirm with UDAF what qualifies, and ask whether a business can change its status to qualify.

Products must be labeled as pure leaf kratom to be sold. Blended or unlabeled products fall outside the rule as summarized here. Ask UDAF for the registration forms and fees, because this guide does not state them. Do not place kratom inventory on the shelf, in the back room, or in an online order fulfilled from your shop until your registration is confirmed.

Summary of key rules

RequirementWho handles itWhat to do
Entity registration (Certificate of Organization or Articles of Incorporation)Division of Corporations and Commercial CodeRegister at businessregistration.utah.gov; $59 filing fee; $18 annual renewal
Assumed name (DBA)Division of Corporations and Commercial Code (state level)$22 to register; check the DBA page for the renewal term and fee
Business licenseCity, town or county where the shop operatesApply locally; a city license does not transfer between cities
Sales tax licenseUtah State Tax CommissionRegister on TAP; combined rates run from 6.35 percent to 10.05 percent
Industrial hemp retailer permitUDAFConfirm the permit fee and process with UDAF
21+ ID check for THC productsHemp retailer (H.B. 389)Check ID at every sale of a THC or THC analog product
Kratom registrationUDAFConfirm eligibility and forms with UDAF before any sale

If you also sell alcohol, the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Services (DABS) regulates that separately. This guide does not cover alcohol licensing.

Costs you can plan around now

These figures are verified for the state filings. Plan for them now:

  • LLC Certificate of Organization: $59
  • Corporation Articles of Incorporation: $59
  • Annual renewal (LLC or corporation): $18, plus a $10 late fee if late
  • Expedited processing: $75 per filing
  • Name reservation: $22 for 120 days
  • DBA registration: $22 (check the Division’s DBA page for the renewal term and fee)
  • Commercial registered agent registration: $52

Confirm these with UDAF and your city or county before budgeting: the hemp retailer permit fee, the kratom registration fee, and the local business license fee. This guide does not state those figures because they are not verified here.

Common mistakes that cost shop owners money

  • Assuming a state general license exists. Utah has none, so the city or county license is the local step you cannot skip.
  • Moving a city license to a new city. It does not transfer. Each city requires its own.
  • Stocking kratom before registration. Unregistered sales can draw a fine of up to $5,000.
  • Skipping the ID check. The 21 and older requirement applies to THC and THC analog products, and to kratom.
  • Missing the annual renewal. A late LLC or corporation renewal adds a $10 fee, and an overdue entity can cause problems with banking and contracts.
  • Using a shop name without a DBA. Operating under a different name without registering it can leave you without the protection and clarity the registration provides.
  • Mismatched names. An LLC name must carry an approved suffix, so check the entity name against the sign and the bank account.

Recommended order of steps

  1. Choose your entity type, check the name against the suffix rules, and reserve the name if needed ($22 for 120 days).
  2. File the Certificate of Organization or Articles of Incorporation ($59) and appoint a registered agent with a Utah street address.
  3. Register a DBA if your shop name differs from the entity name ($22; check the Division’s DBA page for the renewal term and fee).
  4. Apply for your city, town or county business license, and confirm the fee and process with that local office.
  5. Register for a Utah Sales Tax License on TAP and set the combined rate for your address.
  6. Contact UDAF about the industrial hemp retailer permit. Ask about kratom only if your business is a retail tobacco specialty business or may qualify as one.
  7. Put your ID check process in writing before you open, and train staff on it.

When to get professional help

Hemp and kratom rules touch licensing, tax, entity structure and inventory at once. A Utah attorney can review whether your product line and business type fit the current rules. A CPA can advise on how your entity is taxed and on sales tax handling. Neither replaces the agency confirmations described above, but both can save you from an expensive correction later. For free or low-cost business guidance, the Utah Small Business Development Center offers help at utahsbdc.org, and the SBA’s Utah district page is at sba.gov/district/utah.

Where to confirm each requirement

Disclaimer: This guide is informational content, not legal or tax advice. Utah’s hemp and kratom rules were amended in 2026, and agency requirements can change. Confirm every requirement with the named agency and consult a qualified Utah attorney or CPA before making decisions about your business.

Keep exploring: related Utah guides